Where to go?


Geez, it’s a really big world out there.  I never realized just how big until I started to narrow down the places that I would like to spend some time in.  It was at that point that I also realized that a year is not all that long.  It is a really long time when you’re working, but not so long when you’re exploring and having fun.  Since I wanted to spend and extended time in each location to really get the feel for what it would be like to live there, I have had to be very selective in the places that I chose.

So, what is important to me?  Well, I love summer, this much I know.  Also, I know that I want to go completely around the world.  Well, that helps me narrow it down a little bit.  A friend of mine in London recommended that I start out in an English-speaking country so that at least the language aspect was not an issue as I am becoming acclimated to my new lifestyle.  This made perfect sense to me.  This helped to narrow it down a lot more.

With these aspects in mind, here is what I came up with–several bottles of wine later.  Two months in each location (except as noted):

  • Sydney, Australia
  • Thailand
  • Goa, India (2 or 3 weeks)
  • Istanbul, Turkey
  • Milan, Italy
  • Barcelona, Spain
  • Buenos Aires, Argentina

This itinerary certainly meets several of my main objectives:  I start out in an English-speaking country (at least the Australians speak a language that resembles English), Iwill be in perpetual summer, and I go completely around the world.  I also get the benefit of spending my last four months in Spanish-speaking locales.  I am hoping this immersion into Spanish will help me increase my ability to speak that language.  This list of locations also put me in good spots to explore regionally, especially Thailand, Istanbul, and Milan.

BUT…

I have also decided that this is just a plan.  I have reserved the right to change my mind at any point during my excursion.  This trip is not about being rigid and in a routine.  It is about being loose and completely out of the world that I am now in.

One thought on “Where to go?

  1. This is just the most awesome, wonderful thing. So happy You are doing this for yourself. I will be a faithful viewer of your adventure. Love you Brother, so much. Marti

Leave a Reply

