Support


This evening I had a great conversation with Ray’s brother, Dennis.  It was great to hear his voice and to hear about what Ray’s nephew is up to these days.   But what was really special was to hear the support I got in my decision to go on this sabbatical from both Dennis and his wife Diane.

I’m not sure why this was so important to me.  I thought I was beyond being judged by others.  I suppose it was getting the support from someone with the same background as Ray.  Dennis proved to me that the ability to listen is definitely a family trait and not one that Ray has cornered.

And it’s not just Ray’s family.  The support that I’m getting from my family and also from friends and colleagues is so important.  I’m currently going through the process of tearing our house down…one we took so long to build.  This is causing a tremendous amount of stress.    The affirmation that I’m not crazy is really helpful

One thought on “Support

  1. randy, you do what you feel you have to do. i’m totally behind you on your decision and wish you luck in your travels. only wish i could do traveling to.i really don’t like to travel now, that is probablt why i don’t go to Ky. anymore. best travel wishes.

Leave a Reply

