My Microsoft Career


Conference Badges

Today is my last full day at Microsoft and it is scaring the bejeebers out of me.  For the last six years this company has been my security blanket.  I will never forget how compassionate they were with me when Ray died.  It was well beyond what one would reasonably expect a for-profit organization to do. 

I know I’m going to miss my friends at MSFT terribly.  They are a serious and energetic bunch.  But they also know how to have a good time when it is appropriate.  Of course there are some things that I’m not going to miss.  It is extremely difficult, and often frustrating, to function efficiently in a highly matrixed organization.  But I will say, not having this great company behind me will certainly be a net negative in my mind.

People have often asked me exactly what I did at Microsoft.  Sometimes it was difficult to explain if the person did not understand the concept of “partner channel,” or if they didn’t realize that there was more to MSFT than xBox or Word.  But as I was cleaning out a closet this morning, I finally found emperical evidence of exactly what I did at Microsoft.  It appears that I mostly attended conferences!

One thought on “My Microsoft Career

Leave a Reply

