It’s hard to believe…


For those of you who wish I would just get on with this darn trip and be done with it, well, this post is for you.  This is my last night in this house.  It really is hard for me to believe.  After 16 years and a lot of memories, and most all of them good, I’m finally leaving this behind.  It seems a little sad and a little exciting all at the same time.

It’s been a long row to hoe, but within the next hour, my possessions will basically be down to what I can carry.  (Not counting what I have put into storage).  So, now, finally I can turn my focus toward my trip and begin packing in earnest.  I truly hope that whoever lives here next is as happy as I was in this house and that they will pay me a LOT of rent.

Also, there are some things in this house I hope they can figure out.  For instance for the last 16 years a light over the kitchen counter goes on and off at will.  My friend Jill says it has epilepsy.  Like I said, it has done it for 16 years and it is finally starting to get to me.  I even had it replaced recently, and it is still doing it, and it is freaking me out.  I would also love to know who the person on the Harley Davidson that drives down my street in the early morning and gives it that big Harley sound going down the hill.

I could go on and on.  But I think I will quietly go out for dinner this evening with some friends from Microsoft, sleep on a futon tonight, get the carpet cleaned tomorrow, and check into a plush hotel, and then sleep for three days.  That would probably work out pretty well anyway since I think Sydney is about 3 days ahead of us time wise….

10 thoughts on “It’s hard to believe…

  1. I can’t imagine all the different emotions you must have. I have a few about your sabbatical too- and I’m going no where – must chief among them is excitement for you – and for me and all the others that look forward to going around the world thru you and our computer screens.
    Love ya, brother!

    • Rick, Thank you so much for your moral support, it means a lot to me. You just don’t know how many times I have sat here and second guess my decision. I finally got to the point of no return and the doubting became useless. So, here I am today.

  2. Rick, Thank you so much for your support. You just don’t know how many times I have sat here and second guessed myself and this decision. I finally got to the point of no return and the doubting did no good!

  3. Godspeed Randy,have a wonderful time on your trip around the world,be carful and keep us posted……………What does Godspeed mean?LOL

    • I did LOL too. You raised a question that I’ve had for years: What does ‘Godspeed’ mean? I’ve decided it means going really, really fast…on a pillow without getting carsick. I think it must be something like that. Don’t you?

  4. i do hope you enjoy yourself. just think of all the places WE will get to visit through your trip. in a way, we are going with you. thank you for that.

  5. I think “Godspeed” means, May God keep you safe and speed your return to the ones you love. That is just what I have decided it means. I Love you brother, thanks for letting Us go with you 🙂 I am so excited!

Leave a Reply

