My New (Temporary) Home


Kirketon Road, Darlinghurst

Well, I got moved into my new apartment this morning.  I suppose I need to find a better word than “move” since really all I had to do was unpack a suitcase, but it felt good all the same.  I suppose I should also avoid the term “my” so much.  If the owners, Tanya and Trent, are following this blog I think that terms like “my” and “home” in the same sentence would be a little disconcerting to them.  I don’t blame them, they have a lovely place.

Very new and modern

In any event, I am here until around January 20th.  My first order of busines was to go to the grocery.  Don’t get me wrong, I love to eat in restaurants, but when you have to do it for every meal, it becomes a real chore. Sometimes you just want a peanut butter and jelly sandwich with a glass of milk.  That is very difficult to find in a restaurant.

The view from the kitchen is very lush

Thankfully there are several very nice grocery stores within walking distance and I was able to find everything I need at Coles under the big Coca Cola sign.  (I know that sounds strange, but that sign is as iconic here as the Hollywood sign is in Los Angeles).  I am going to be brushing up on the metric system very quickly…no choice!  Who knew that a half kilo of mortadella would feed an army for a week?  In the U.S. if you buy a half kilo of anything you’re very likely to end up in prison for the rest of your life.  I think the next time, 250 grams will be quite sufficient.

I also like the way shopping is done.  There are little specialty shops everywhere; bakeries, butcher shops, vegetable stands, etc.  It’s very European in that way.  Also, just so that you KNOW it is summer, I bought fresh cherries.
A great place to sit and write, research, etc.

All in all, I am very happy with how this is turning out so far.  Everything is enough like it is at home to keep me from being freaked out, but just different enough to keep me intrigued and entertained.

4 thoughts on “My New (Temporary) Home

  1. Randy, it looks very nice. I am so glad you are having a great begining to OUR adventure 🙂 Love the pics, and that you are keeping us involved in the journey. Love you much

  2. Hey Randy,
    The owners of the house might not mind if you used “temporary” when you talk about “my home” or “my new home.

    You keep John and I laughing, since you write with a certain kind of comical flair. We can’t wait for each new installment. I forward your blog to our cousin Bonnie, and she gets a kick out of them too.

    Love ya Cuz.

Leave a Reply

