Does anyone remember what “Rain Man” Meant? I do.


Dustin Hoffman, Tom Cruise. "Rain Man" 1988

1988:

 The Hubble Space Telescope Goes into operation to explore deep space and is still in full use today mapping our universe. A bomb is exploded on Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie in Scotland on December 21st . Also Prozac is sold for the first time as an anti-depressant some of the great movies that year included Rain Man, Die Hard and A Fish Called Wanda

That was 1988 and Ray and I were on Tiananmen Square that year; the famous  uprising (the guy heroically staring down a tank gun barrel), was the next year. There were 10,000 cars in the entire country of China in 1988. I understand they have traffic jams and a smog problem now. That was the last time that I have been out of the US for this long. Three weeks today. It’s hard to believe that I only have 327 weeks to go on this trip. Time flies.

I’m starting to fall more into a routine. Everyday chores still entertain me but the tourist sights not so much anymore here in Sydney. Groceries, finding a place to send a fax to Thailand, shopping for something to wear on New Year’s Eve…that’s still fun to me. However I am planning a train trip to the Blue Mountains on Thursday. The Aussies say that the Eucalyptus trees exhale a substance that makes the mountains blue. I’m dying to ask them what’s up with the Smokies and the Blue Ridge without a Eucalypt in sight.

But I remain smug.

3 thoughts on “Does anyone remember what “Rain Man” Meant? I do.

Leave a Reply

