The Bondi to Coogee Coastal Walk


Bondi Beach, Sydney, New South Wales

I spent so much time on the couch yesterday that when I got up this morning, I saw that I had left an imprint of my butt in the suede on the sofa.  I was using my hand to “erase” it when it came to me, this is probably not good.  So I was out of the house by 10:00 a.m. bound for Bondi and the trailhead of the Coastal Hike in Sydney.  Man am I glad I did!

The "trail." Sydney Coastal Hike

The hike starts in an area of Sydney called Bondi Beach.  I can get there easily and quickly by taking a train and then changing to a bus at “Bondi Junction.”  The trail then follows the beautiful clifftops and you are deposited on one panoramic beach after another.  I will likely include more pictures in this post than any other I have done so far.  It is just a shame that I know they won’t even do the walk justice.

Wind eroded cliff formations

 I think that I just have taken at least 60 pictures today, but around every bend would be something even more interesting than before.

The walk was about 4 miles in total and since I was using public transportation, I didn’t even have to backtrack to get back to the car.

Tamorama Beach (also called "Glamorama" because of the beautiful people)

 

"Community Grill" (I think the guy tending the hot dogs is a plumber...don't ask me why I think that).

 

Bronte Beach

Bronte Beach "Baths"

Ocean view cemetary

Don’t ask me why, I seemed to have developed an attraction to cemetaries.  Maybe I’m like Harold in “Harold and Maude,” but I just find them to be really historical, peaceful, and interesting.  Not to mention, they are a great place to go to get away from the crowds.  (Wonder why you don’t see too many live people at these places)?  Anyway, outside of the Recoleta Cemetary in Buenos Aires, this had to be one of the more interesting ones that I have encountered.  It was right on the walkway…it was HUGE.  Most of the people there died in the 1800’s.

This is what you evidently do just before you go to the cemetary for good (this was right next door)

2 thoughts on “The Bondi to Coogee Coastal Walk

  1. You take the most fantastic pictures. Every place you have been is beautiful. Oh yeah, the plummber is easily recognized (haven’t you heard that they have a international dress code?). It is another rainy day in L.A., oh my god I think I see the sun. Well it was here just a second ago. Looking forward to your next blog.

Leave a Reply

