Happy New Year!


Watching the crowd gather.

What an amazing New Year’s Eve it was in 2010!  Bring on 2011…I’m ready.  I was able to witness a once in a lifetime spectacle last night from perhaps one of the best vantage points possible, on the terrace of the Sydney Museum of Contemporary Art overlooking the beautiful Sydney Harbor and Circular Quay.  I don’t have any pictures of the fireworks (yet) because I refused to watch them through the lens of a camera.  Besides, they were all over the city so it would have been impossible to capture.

Hours before the fireworks. I'm above it all.

 
 
I left the house around 6:30 pm so that I could meet some new friends around 7:30.  Yes, I was 45 minutes early, but that was exactly what I wanted.  I love just sitting quietly out of the way and watching a crowd gather.  There are so many dynamics in play it’s just entertaining to me.  And believe me, the crowd was already substantial at 6:45 in the evening.  I think it was the first NYE I’ve experienced where so many people were wearing sunglasses.  It gives the holiday a whole new dimension.
 
 

Nick, William, and Bruno

Even though I’m typically the quiet, introverted type I managed to meet a lot of really nice people.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

What a view! The Opera House is off to the right

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Practical advice!

3 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

