It’s Just going to Take Some Time. That’s All.


This building blows my mind. Those are palm trees up there!

Oh boy, I’m certainly not in Kansas anymore, and I think I saw Toto on the menu at one restaurant I passed today.  This is going to take some getting used to…from several different angles.  I haven’t been in Asia for twenty four hours yet, and I’m already getting that “uh oh” feeling in my guts.  I was spoiled for having been in Australia for so long, and I’ve probably not been as vigilent as I should have been.  It’s minor, so lesson learned without too much damage.

I’m not going to rush to judgement on Singapore, I’ll give it a couple more hours.  On the one hand, it is sort of interesting with the new, glitzy high rises sitting beside old colonial buildings.  Well, sometimes it’s interesting, and then at others it seems just plain silly.

Sidewalk scene

One thing I do miss.  In both the US and Australia, the pedestrian is king.  They can make all kinds of goof ups, and it would still be the driver’s fault.  Unfortunately, you only get one mistake here.  Then it’s over, move on to the next life, and hope your reincarnation is a rural one.  Walking is really not very pleasant, and that’s not just Singapore, it’s all coming back to me now, it’s pretty much like that in all the places I’ve visited in Asia. 

On top of it, being only 85 miles from the equator it’s hot.  I mean really hot.  Plus, being surrounded by water, it’s humid.  I mean really humid.  But, I’m not passing judgement  yet.

One of the many little surprises Singapore gives you

Actually, I’m being too hard.  I don’t adjust quickly, it takes me a couple days to get the new rythym of a place.  From what I’ve seen, Singapore has some good qualities.  It is spotlessly clean, eerily so in a way.  You can just tell that there are a lot of rules here.  I saw a sign in the subway today that alterted riders that littering is a $S5,000 fine.  That’s nearly US$4,000!  Also I realize that this is just the tip of the iceburg.  I went to the Maylasian train terminal to pick up my ticket to Panang.  If the station is any indication, this is going to be interesting at worst.

My next post is going to be about food.  Don’t get me started on that one!  I went into a place today because it was  buffet.  I thought perfect.  My stomach is feeling a little queezy and the buffet would let me pick out things that are easiest to identify, and I’d only pick out things that wouldn’t add injury to insult.  Well, I got to the buffet table and everything was raw, piles of raw meat.  You had to cook it yourself at the table on a little grill that had a bowl of broth where you also made your own soup.
 

Just because I thought it was a good shot.

3 thoughts on “It’s Just going to Take Some Time. That’s All.

  1. You might just skedaddle out of there before you get caned for scratching your behind with the wrong hand or something… 🙂

  2. “Fascinating reading, I feel like I am there with you..this place looks like will be more challenging but hey, you have been there before or close..

Leave a Reply

