Jill…


…What a morning it has been!  I left to pick up Jill at the airport at 5:30 this morning.  I was so excited that she was coming that I woke at at 2:00 a.m. and couldn’t go back to sleep so I did a couple loads of laundry to pass the time.  I went on line and found a site that told me her flight was going to be 1/2 hour early, arriving at 6:00 a.m. instead of 6:30.

I dashed out of the house and made it to the airport right at 6:00 which was plenty of time since she would have to go through immigration, collect her steamer trunks, and then go through customs.  I stood for an hour in front of the International Arrivals exit gate watching for her when I realize that there were several exit gates labeled by letter.  I was a exit gate B.  So!  That is what that little letter means by her flight number…she is to exit at Gate C.  Crap.

I go to Exit C, wait another hour…no Jill.  I walk the entire length of the airport, no Jill.  I attempt to go back to Exit C but I am stopped by security as they are not allowing anyone else on that end of the airport.  For the next hour I contact Thai Airways.  Yes, she was on the flight.  I have her paged, they do it in Thai.  I go to the tourist police and they help me call her hotel, no she has not checked in. 

By 9:00 I’m pretty sure that she has ended up in Burma or Laos or something.  I don’t know what to do.  I get on the train to come back to the hotel wondering how I’m going to explain this to her mother and the four dozen long-stemmed roses I’m carrying are really starting to get on my nerves.  If one more woman smiles at me, I’m pretty sure I’m going to smack her.

HEre she is...Miss Celleanous...

I finally make it back to the hotel an hour later and I walked up to the front desk.  YES!   Ms. Jensen has checked in and is awaiting me in her room.  She has just flown on an 18 hour flight.  I’m the one that is exhausted.  Just for that I make her go for a really long, long walk down some of the ripest streets I could find.  Oh, and I published this picture that I promised her no one would ever see.  HeHe, I’m feeling much better.

6 thoughts on “Jill…

  1. Just glad your friend made it.. Hope you both get some rest… I will say there is nothing about this trip that is boring…You make everything so fun..Love the roses…Sorry I would have smiled too:)

Leave a Reply

