Nearly Time to Put a Bow on Bangkok


It’s Wednesday and I leave for Cambodia on Saturday.  That means that I am starting to feel like the time here is winding down.  With that feeling comes the thoughts of “is there anything I missed?” or “is there anything I should buy before I leave?” or “Will I ever come back here again?”

The answer to all three of those questions is a resounding “Yes”  As when I was leaving Sydney (but to a lesser degree) I have mixed emotions.  After a month you start to feel comfortable in a location and you like the familiarity that comes with time.  So you are hesitant to leave.  But at the same time you begin to anticipate the next chapter and the chance to start anew.

A hectic patch up ahead. Fasten your seatbelts.

Unlike the rest of the trip where I’ve pretty much stayed put for long stretches of time, over the next month or so I will be moving around more frequently.  This will no doubt be more tiring than what I’ve done thus far, but I’m going to some really exiciting places and I am looking forward to the change.

By far, the most memorable thing about Bangkok will be the people that I came to know here.  I’ve made new friends that I am sure I will be in contact with in the future.  They’re all avid travellers, they were extremely kind to me,  and I would not be surprised to see our paths cross again.  Then there was time with an old friend, Jill.  That will remain a highlight and an experience that we will share long after this sabbatical is over.

A sneak peak at what’s ahead:  Cambodia and Vietnam.

 

6 thoughts on “Nearly Time to Put a Bow on Bangkok

  1. Wow – you will probably get the salute of a lifetime when you leave Centre Point! I’ll bet Jack will miss your evening cocktail visits and the puppies will grow into old sleeping dogs… What will you do your last two nights??

  2. What an itinerary! Rest up my friend.

    I see that you are headed to Mumbai. If you haven’t read it, I suggest the novel “Shantaram” by Gregory David Roberts. Set in the underbelly of Mumbai. It’s well written, but you’d better start now…it’s a huge read.

    • Hey Mike, thanks for the tip. I saw it at the Bangkok airport and bought it. I plan on a day by the pool today so it will be handy. I’m not sure if I’m supposed to read it or use it for lifting weights!

Leave a Reply

