Out of Basic Training


Hotel Room View, Panjim, Goa, India

Did you hear the one about the Indian guy that was applying for a job?  During the interview they wanted to test his English so they asked him to make a sentence with the words:  green, pink, and yellow.  He thought for a minute and said:  “The phone goes green, green, green.  I pink it up and say “yellow!”  This is Najeet. Which lights are flashing on your modem?

Sorry, I couldn’t help myself.  Unfortunately that joke goes through my head nearly everytime I speak to some now.  Yesterday morning I woke up in Hanoi for an early flight to Bangkok.  I then waited around the airport for six hours for my flight to Mumbai (formerly known as Bombay).  I made it to my hotel last night around 11:00 Mumbai time.  I didn’t see much of that city since I stayed at a hotel right next to the airport.  But, what I did see makes me think that Saigon and Hanoi was a walk in the park compared to there.

This morning I went back to the airport for a flight to a small town called Panjim in the Indian state of Goa.  Security at the Mumbai Domestic Airport is intense.  And Jill, if you’re reading this, the rabbit’s foot you gave me as a good luck charm before I left, caused quite a stir.  Three people had to look at it, there was a lot of discussion, and looking in the manuals before my protective omen and I were allow to continue on through.  I must have looked like the guy from the movie “Midnight Express” because all the time this was going on, I was thinking “if you think that’s weird, you should see all the ashes of Ray I have in my suitcase.”

Anyway, all three of us, the rabbit’s foot, Ray’s ashes, and I, made it here safe and sound.  My friend Joan from Los Angeles will be joining me tomorrow.  She has a flight from Istanbul that arrives at some crazy hour like 3:30 a.m. or something like that.  I don’t really expect to see her until after lunch though.

My room, The Panjim Inn

More to report in the days ahead (I’m booked here for 10 days).  In the meantime I only have a couple pictures of the hotel to share.  It’s an old, old hotel, in a really old town (http://www.panjiminn.com/).  It’s listed as a “World Heritage” hotel.  Here are the only two pictures that I’ve taken so far (both of the hotel).

Also, keep in mind that the Internet connection here is extremely slow and very unreliable.  It has taken me nearly an hour to complete this posting with just two pictures.  I may have to resort to short posts on Facebook if things don’t improve.  If that turns out to be the case, I’ll write the posts offline, and then upload once I get to Turkey.

One thought on “Out of Basic Training

  1. Well, you started my day with a really good laugh.

    Looking at that room of yours, I’m wondering how you’re going to be able to lounge out – not exactly a cushy room, huh? Looks pretty cool, though.

Leave a Reply

