Another Day, Another Sultan’s Palace


I didn’t even leave the house yesterday.  The only palace I wanted to see is was the humble one I’m living in.  The only temple I wanted to visit is the “Sofa Temple,” the one in my little palace.  I’ve seen so much over the past few months that my mind is gettle completely garbled.  For a few seconds today I actually had to stop and think which country I was in.  It was scary.  Although I suppose that if I really wanted to make excuses I could blame that one on the early onset of Alzheimer’s disease.

Dolmabahce Palace, Istanbul

I did venture out today though to the Dolmabahce Palace (pronounced dolma botchie).   The palace, commissioned by Sultan Abdul Mecit in 1843 is oppulent.  As a matter of fact, that word so understates the Palace that it is almost embarrassing to use it in my description. 

Around this time in history, the Sultan’s were beginning to lose their ruling grip on Turkey, and many in the world thought the country was close to bankruptcy.  The Sultan built Dolmabahce to prove to the world that Turkey was still a very rich place.  However the interesting part is that with all the money he spent on the palace and its contents, he probably hastened the looming financial failure and the demise of the Sultanate.  Pictures are not allowed inside the palace so I’m having to resort to stock photos from the Internet to give you a glimpse into what it looks like on the inside.
The other pictures are just various and sundry things that caught my eye during the day out.

The older gentleman just looked so classic to me.

Shoe covers in the palace please.

Istanbul is currently trying to wipe out spitting. I think this might be part of that effort, I'm not sure though.

2 thoughts on “Another Day, Another Sultan’s Palace

    • Janet: How do you do it? This is the most heart-wrenching yet uplifting piece I’ve read in I don’t know how long. It is always good to read things like this to help us keep our perspective. The support you received during your bout with cancer was amazing and it touched me in a way that I can’t explain. I had to smile when I read the part where you were adding building materials to the birds. That was the first thing that popped in my mind when you described your locks landing in the holly bushes. I’ll admit, when I first thought that I cringed with guilt and then laughed when you brought it up yourself.

Leave a Reply

