It’s Time


It’s time.  I read through almost my entire universe of blog entries today starting with the most current all the way back to the beginning.  It was a great exercise for me.  It showed me how far I have come since those days of first grappling with the decision to do this to where I am today; emotionally, psychologically, physically.  It’s time.

My goal for this journey remains the same as when I first conceived it.  To move on and to become anxious to begin the next phase of my life.  Over the past couple of weeks, actually beginning in India, “home” has been on my mind.  And when I say “home” I mean creating a new one that’s mine and surrounding myself with all these memories I’ve made over the years and especially the past few months.  The very fact that I’m thinking about it, that I’m anxious for it tells me that it’s time.

At the end of my stay in Istanbul I will be “killing” a couple weeks in London, Amsterdam, and Paris before I meet my friends, Ann and Mike, in Florence, Italy.  We will spend a couple weeks touring Italy and returning to Ray’s family village in Sicily for Ray’s birthday.  On May 28th I will be flying back to Kentucky and will be there in time for the Pack Family reunion.  I can’t think of a more fitting way to end this journey.  It’s time.

My mission has been accomplished.  I’m looking forward to seeing my family, visiting with friends in Dayton and then flying to Los Angeles on June 11th to begin a new life for myself.  Once there I will impose upon friends for a place to live until I can find an apartment.  I will then get the few belongings I have out of hock, busy myself with reacquiring what I need,  and begin my new life.  I’m excited again, I’m looking forward, my mission for this trip is complete, and I’m coming home.   It just feels right, so it’s time.

14 thoughts on “It’s Time

  1. Randy, I’m happy to hear this and have been inspired by your journey now, and eager to see you move into the next chapter back in LA LA Land this Summer.

  2. So happy that you are excited for the future again. Will be great to see you at the reunion. Love you Brother, so much.

  3. I am so glad you have found what you needed and wanted to find. As this part of your journey comes to a end, I want to thank you for letting me “come along for the ride” ..Can’t wait to see how the rest of the trip goes..

  4. Randy-
    It’s us again! I for one have been following your journey with great interest and have in my own way benefited from this emotional journey of yours, life lessons learned, educational exposure to lands unexplored, and have been inspired by your fortitude, Chutzpah, dedication, and brilliant writing talents! What an inspiration. Ray is and will never be forgotten. You have so much to offer the world. Barry and I hope very much to tell you in person as you pass thru Dayton! We will contact Jim and Doug immediately to see if we can coordinate something. London, Amersterdam and Paris! Oh , My! You MUST enjoy yourself there! We CAN relate to THOSE sites! Great places to end the journey and start a new life with the new , improved, enlightened – RP!!
    Jerry Clark and Barry McCorkle

    • Jerry, thanks for your kind post. You don’t know how intrepid I was before I actually left Los Angeles on December 5th bound for Sydney, Australia. That departure was preceeded by months of sitting at the dining room table: planning, calculating, backing out, refortifying, planning, calculating, refortifying…repeat, repeat.

      It has cost me a lot of time and money and has changed the way I look at myself, the world, and my place in it. Would I do it again? You damn betcha I would. As I look back, I now see that I really had no other viable choice.

      Looking forward to seeing you in June. It’s been too long.

  5. I just got back into town and was catching up on “our” trip. I feel that part of me has joined you for the juorney. How wonderful that you are coming home. Can’t wait to connect.

Leave a Reply

