Power Touring


It’s hard to believe it, but I have been at this traveling thing for five months in a couple days.  With that comes the experience to be able to see pretty much an entire city the size of Florence in a couple of hours.  This was my third day here and I finally figured that should probably get out and take a look see.  But not after going through my morning routine which takes about four hours now.

First there is the coffee, then checking email, reading my newsy websites, taking a shower, and eating breakfast.  After all that I feel like I need a break so I lie on the sofa and read for a while.  Finally I get myself composed enough to walk to the supermarket to buy the day’s groceries.  I don’t want to buy two day’s worth for a couple reasons:  1) They’d be heavy to carry home, and 2) It would screw up my routine the following morning.

Once I get home from the market it’s nigh lunch time.  After lunch, this being a “siesta country” I feel compelled to take a quick nap.  About an hour later I start wondering if maybe I should get out and do something.  Sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t.

Today I did a walk for about two hours and pretty much saw most of the major sights in Florence.  I still have a couple things on my bucket list for this city, but I have friends coming from Ohio next week to join me.  Might as well wait for them to get here.  I suppose I’m going to have to slow my pace down a little.

A Florentine street

Basilica of Santa Croce, circa 1294.

This just caught my eye.

Naked white boys. "Hey, do you guys work out?"

More naked white boys.

Done in chalk on the sidewalk. Very lifelike..amazing.

Il Duomo. Not quite as old as Santa Croce. It wasn't started until 1296 but still impressive.

Il Duomo. A little too fussy maybe? Perhaps, time will tell.

4 thoughts on “Power Touring

  1. When I was in college and visited Florence, I had what were the best strawberries of my life until I moved to Oregon. They served them in a rolled cone of paper, and I sat on the steps of a fountain and gorged myself. I hope it is strawberry season there so you can do the same, and that the berries are still so wonderful.

    • Oh my goodness! I can’t seem to get past the vegetables thus far. They’re plentiful, so varied, beautiful, and inexpensive. Last night I had some of the best asparagus fried in olive oil. Tonight it is rapa. More than I will ever be able to eat, but I couldn’t resist. I paused at the friut today, but my basket was full. Domani!

  2. Hi Randy

    Good to see sights u have seen,and what a beautiful
    country side,tell Ann and Mike Hey see u soon.J&D

  3. I think you have the right routine going. I know from experience it’s my favorite. I was in Florence once and loved it. I’m sure you’ve done the “bridge” thing. Say Hi to Mike and Anne

Leave a Reply

