I Just Want to go Home


https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=96L0LQzQo64#at=17

I leased our house to a couple from Paris that owns a video production company.  They are working to start the US division of their company.  Just the other day they invited me to the Cannes Film Festival where they were promoting one of their films.  But, alas, I had to decline because my friends, Mike and Ann, are arriving from the US that day…I’m from the midwest I still know where my priorities lie,I still think that I understan what’s really important.  I think. I hesitated before I declined, for that I feel guilty.  I mean the hesitation part. 

They signed a two year lease.  It seemed like a good idea at the time.  But now that I have seen the place through their eyes, I can’t wait to get back there.  I think that maybe Ray and I were on to  something back in the mid 90’s real estate slump in LA.  I can’t seem to get enough of this video.  I just hope that my neighbors will still speak to me.

7 thoughts on “I Just Want to go Home

  1. Are you kidding me? Come home, we will welcome you with open arms! Hopefully, they will be so successful that they will beg to end the lease early.

  2. Completely awesome and has to be totally surreal. They look like they’re having just a good of a time as you are 1/2 way around the world!

    • Yes Jennifer! And I swear I think Of Brenda, my inability to “control” this. But then I remember that if I was conrolling it, it would have never happpened. “Surreal” was a good choice of words.

  3. 1. I want one of those swimsuits. Or two. 2. I remember we visited LA right after you bought the house and had not yet moved in. Ray showed us around and was freaking at the price, but he said you kept calming him down, saying it was a good investment. Vraiment! So glad glad glad you didn’t sell. Gizmo was part of the rental package?

  4. 1. I want to look like any one of those in the video. Even the dog seemed to be having a better time than I do.
    2. I’ll probably die there. Not morbid, just the reality. Over the years Ray and I came to terms with the fact that this would happpen to one or both of us at this address.

Leave a Reply

