Arividercci Roma…


…Goodbye, goodbye to Rome.

The Trevi Fountain

In ancient times Rome was the center and ruler of the world and at about the same time there was an Italian-American singer named Dean Martin who would sing about all the beauty of Italy.  “That’s Amore.”

It has been a busy three days in Rome, a woefully inadequate amount of time to see all that it holds.  The thirty toes and six knees between Ann, Mike, and I can attest that we have made a valiant effort to see it all though.  We’ve strolled the Via Corso, climbed the Spanish Steps, tossed a coin in the Trevi Fountain, visited the Vatican and it’s miles of exhibits, gazed at the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel, wondered around the Roman Forum, and angered our feet climbing around the Coliseum.

But it wasn’t all fun and games.  We still managed to spend several hours in Roman restaurants and trattorias eating food prepared by someone’s Nana and just watching the world go by.  People love to rave about French food, and it is good, but I really don’t think it suits me like the Italian cuisine does.

Yesterday was a good day.  While at the Roman Forum I spotted a place that was comparatively quiet and had a view of both the Forum and of the Coliseum.  Here I decided was another fitting spot to leave some of Ray’s ashes.  I have now left him in so many spots around the world that I have started a spreadsheet to remind me of all the places.  I’m so happy that I decided to do this as it only enhances my memory of him.

This morning we’re boarding a train bound for Sorrento.  While there we plan on seeing the Amalfi Coash, Pompeii, and Capri.

The Colisium

Partial view of where I left Ray's ashes

More of Ray's view. The Roman Forum

Arividercci Roma. Goodbye, goodby to Rome.

2 thoughts on “Arividercci Roma…

Leave a Reply

