So, You’re “American.”


I’m not sure where we got off track, but there’s a lot more to being “American” than from being from the United States.  When I travel I never consider myself as an American.  I’m a citizen of The United States of America.  I simply can’t imagine  what our friends in Canada, Mexico, and Central America nust think of our lose word “America.” We’ve no claim to use it generically.

Recently, I was checking into a hotel in San Jose, Costa Rica, the desk clerk asked from where I was from.   I answered “America.”  He asked “could you narrow that down a litlle bit.”

Leave a Reply

