The Storm Before the Calm


I am about to get my electronic gadgets straightened out.

I am about to get my electronic gadgets straightened out.

I’m running around like crazy today preparing to leave on another trip tomorrow night.  This time it seems especially complicated because I will be gone from my house for over two months and have to prepare for two separate (and very different) trips.  But first things first.

Here’s a little dictionary of terms you may hear me using over the next few weeks:

 

 

Barbie : barbecue (noun)

Brekkie : breakfast

Budgie smugglers : men’s bathing costume

Cut lunch : sandwiches

Fair dinkum : true, genuine

G’Day : hello

Lair it up : to behave in a brash and vulgar manner

Who opened their lunch? : OK, who farted?

Not the full quid : not bright intellectually

Pig’s arse! : I don’t agree with you

Aussie salute : brushing flies away

Sheila : a woman

Squizz (noun) : look – “take a squizz at this”

Trough lolly : the solid piece of perfumed disinfectant in a men’s urinal

It’s gone walkabout : it’s lost, can’t be found

Bloke : Man, guy

 

seatMy flight leaves LAX at 10:15p.m. Monday evening and is nearly 16 hours nonstop to Sydney.  I will arrive on Wednesday morning.  People ask me how I cope with such a long flight and really the answer is quite simple:  business class and medication.  I’ve snagged an upper deck, lie-flat, window seat on this 747.  All of which are to my liking.

So, come along with me.  I’m hoping this will be a real rip snorter of a trip.

Leave a Reply

