Sydney Mardi Gras Parade


Several apartment buildings along the parade route were all decked out themselves.

Several apartment buildings along the parade route were all decked out themselves.

Last night was the world-famous Sydney Mardi Gras parade.  I have to say it had to be the biggest, most colorful, most fun parade I’ve ever seen.  Almost as much fun as the parade itself was strolling up and down Oxford Street (along the parade route) for about three hours before hand just snapping pictures.  I’ve never seen so many smiles at one time in my life.

I purchased VIP tickets back in December for exclusive parade viewing real estate right on Taylor Square, the epicenter of the parade route.  It was money well spent.  I had a great place to view the parade.  However I eventually gave up trying to take pictures of the parade itself because the parade was at night (a really fun touch) and really fast moving so my photos were just coming out as a blur.  A couple interesting notes about this parade:  There are over 10,000 participants.  Your group has to audition their “act” in order to be selected to participate.

It rained nearly all day and miraculously cleared by parade time.This is 4 hours before parade time!

It rained nearly all day and miraculously cleared by parade time.This is 4 hours before parade time!

The result made for a fantastic parade!  Not the type where people are bleakly walking past waving half-heartedly.  I wish someone from Los Angeles Pride would come and see this parade.  Here are some of my pictures.  Most are my own snapshots, but I did find a couple that someone else took that I thought especially captured the spirit.  I only included those of scenes I actually saw myself.

64796_611987085484761_134036435_n

P1030397

Isn't she adorable!  I didn't take this one, but I saw her and was embarassed to take her picture.  Was so happy to find this one.

Isn’t she adorable! I didn’t take this one, but I saw her and was embarassed to take her picture. Was so happy to find this one.

This is the group that I stood beside all evening watching the parade.

Of course Dikes on Bikes opened the parade.  There must be an international rule.

Of course Dikes on Bikes opened the parade. There must be an international rule.

I agree.  You did see some scary things.

I agree. You did see some scary things.

P1030412

I loved these two.

I loved these two.

A very important conference no doubt.

A very important conference no doubt.

My parade vantage point

My parade vantage point

 

2 thoughts on “Sydney Mardi Gras Parade

Leave a Reply

