Another Day Gone Walkabout


My butt’s dragging again, I’m sunburned, thirsty, and couldn’t be happier.  Yesterday, www.bing.com had a cover photo that inspired my activities today.  For those of you who don’t use this search engine; you’re missing a chance to see a really cool picture every day as well as getting just as good (or even better sometimes) search results as Google.

BingCoogee

Here’s the photo that I found so inspirational.

 

 

 

 

 

P1030493

And here’s the photo I took today.

Pretty cool, huh?

This is the baths at Coogee Beach in Sydney.  Most of the major beaches in the city has a pool carved into the rocks at one end of the beach.  The pool, called baths here, are fed by natural ocean water but it provides a calm place for swimming, splashing, and generally lollygagging around.  One thing I learned from the Bing photo is that “Coogee” is an aboriginal word that means stinky place.  I can assure you that I found nothing stinky about Coogee.

One of my favorite things to do in Sydney is to take one of the coastal cliffwalks.  The most famous one runs from Bondi Beach to Coogee Beach (“The Bondi to Coogee Walk).  But since I’m of above average intelligence, and since I was already in Coogee, I made the assumption that this same walk must go from Coogee to Bondi.  I tested my hypothesis and it’s true!

I made my first Microsoft Photosynth today!  Click here:  http://photosynth.net/view.aspx?cid=b3342f2b-a981-4f10-a8d9-64fa31f75dbb to view it.  (Also, please leave comments if you’re unable to open it…I’m still learning and need the feedback.)  Be sure to use your mouse to pan around the panorama.

Here are some additional photos of my walk today.

Coogee Beach, Sydney

Coogee Beach, Sydney

Cliffwalk

Cliffwalk

Gordon Bay Volunteer Sea Rescue Club

Gordon Bay Volunteer Sea Rescue Club

Where the Pacific Ocean meets Australia

Where the Pacific Ocean meets Australia

The baths at Bronte Beach, Sydney

The baths at Bronte Beach, Sydney

Another "selfie."  Bronte Beach.

Another “selfie.” Bronte Beach.

Sometimes you just have to wonder if these Aussies are just too nice for their own good.

Sometimes you just have to wonder if these Aussies are just too nice for their own good.

5 thoughts on “Another Day Gone Walkabout

  1. The pictures are great, all of them. We are suppose to have a few inches of snow tonight and tomorrow, I am so jealous of you right now! Glad your having a great time, Love you.

  2. Photoshop and other pics came out great, maybe your next task is to teach us below average to do these pics. Glad you are haing fun, go see the open (w/roof) market. would love to hear your comment on Pouche purses from Kanaroo balls…..

Leave a Reply

