Thanks Mate


It’s hard to believe that I’ve been here in Sydney for nearly three weeks.  It’s been eventful.  I saw my first Sydney Mardi Gras Parade, my friend Clara visted from Southern California, we participated in a political protest, and I generally enjoyed late summer only to have it to look forward to again.  But I will have to say that an incident that only lasted a few seconds will also stand out in my memory.

I was on the corner of Darlinghurst Road and William Street (Kings Cross).  At the first cross walk I noticed a couple with a map (rotating it occassionally) looking quite perplexed.  At the second cross walk (it’s a complicated intersection) they looked no more situated.  So going out on a limb I asked them “can I help you find something?”  I’m pretty sure that my obvious American accent did not instill confidence, but the woman, holding the map, said “St Vincent’s Hospital.”

Bingo!  I knew this one!  “This street is Darlinghurst Road I pointed to the street in front of us.  That one over there (it took everything I had to keep from saying “they-ah” in my best Aussie speak) on the left is Victoria Street.  Just go up Victoria, you can’t miss it.”

“Is it far?” she asked.  “No, five minutes, tops.”  I answered.  “Thanks mate” the gentleman responded.

The signal turned for us and I walked away with a little grin on my face and a more pronounced bounce in my step.  Finally I was someone’s “mate” in Australia.

My second indication that I had been around these parts long enough was “The Nun.”  But that’s an inside story between Clara and I.  Suffice it to say that when you’ve seen the same character three times, it’s time to move on.  Over the next several weeks follow along as I transition back to Hollywood and then to Hollyweed for five weeks.

3 thoughts on “Thanks Mate

  1. It’s a credit to your writing that I read this posting with a mixture of excitement and apprehension. Memorable for what reason? Directions to Hospital? Was the woman in distress? Hot water, labor pains, et. al. Whew. Welcome back to Australia, “mate.”

Leave a Reply

