Here We Go!


P1040968Well, it’s my favorite day of the week:  Travel Thursday.  The car arrives around 3:30 for the ride to LAX where my new travel buddy, Amanda, and I will rendezvous at the Bradley International Terminal bound for Istanbul.  We’ll only spend one night there (also on the way back) before we head on to the enchanting country of Morocco.  This has been on my list for far too long and I’m so excited to finally witness first-hand, the souks, narrow alleys, casbahs, and riads that have made Morocco famous.

Some of the places we’re going to visit include:

  • Casablanca
  • Rabat
  • Fez
  • Volubilis/Meknes
  • Ifrane/Midelt/Errachidia/Erfoud/Merzouga (including a camel trek and overnight bivouac in the desert in a tent)
  • Todra Gorges/Tinghir/Boumane du Dades
  • Skoura/Ouarzazte/High Atlas Mountains
  • Ourika Valley
  • Berber villages (including a class in Moroccan cooking)
  • Essaouira
  • Marrakech

It’s a jam-packed itinerary and is probably more than I would normally do in the length of time we have.  But there is just so much to see that it was difficult to whittle the list down and further.

Amanda Easton

Amanda Easton

I have a new travel companion for this trip.  Meet Amanda Easton, an old colleague from my Microsoft days (Amanda is still there).  She’s been a real trooper through the planning phase, even the part about the two-hour camel ride.  I’m looking forward to a great trip with her. Don’t worry, Joan is still around…somewhere in the world, likely Croatia or something like that.  She’s even meeting up with Amanda and I in Marrakech at the end of the trip.  Amanda will be heading home a day before Joan and I (someone has to work and keep the economy going, right?).  Joan and I will return to Istanbul together where I’ll leave her behind there and head home.

Let’s go!

2 thoughts on “Here We Go!

Leave a Reply

