Greetings from Siti Fatma


In some Muslim countries Sunday is just a normal work day.  But here in Morocco it is a day of rest just like at home.  That means all the city dwellers from Marrakech (and a smattering of tourists) head for the cool air and laid back ambiance of villages like Siti Fatma in the High Atlas.  Amanda and I spent a truly relaxing day with Abdellah there today.  I went for a hike in the mountains while Amanda sat by the river “zoning out” as she called it.  We also had a peaceful lunch there.

Here’s a little photo blog that simply does not do justice to the place.

Sometimes you just have to force yourself to leave the tranquility of the Kasbah Omar.

Sometimes you just have to force yourself to leave the tranquility of the Kasbah Omar.

The river at Siti Fatma.

The river at Siti Fatma.

Cool drinks chilled by snow melt coming from the mountains.

Cool drinks chilled by snow melt coming from the mountains.

Walking along the river.

Walking along the river.

Please.  Come in. Relax.

Please. Come in. Relax.

Yours truly.

Yours truly.

Preparing tagines for lunch.

Preparing tagines for lunch.

Siti Fatma from above (during my hike up the mountain).

Siti Fatma from above (during my hike up the mountain).

Looks like fun, eh?

Looks like fun, eh?

My Berber guide during the hike.  Sometimes he thought I was an old woman.  Sometimes I did too.

My Berber guide during the hike. Sometimes he thought I was an old woman. Sometimes I did too.

At the apex of our hike.  Abdellah looking fresh as a daisy.  Me trying to disguise sheer and utter exhaustion.

At the apex of our hike. Abdellah looking fresh as a daisy. Me trying to disguise sheer and utter exhaustion.

The village of Siti Fatma

The village of Siti Fatma

A donkey gets new shoes.

A donkey gets new shoes.

Outdoor living rooms for miles!

Outdoor living rooms for miles!

Where we had lunch.

Where we had lunch.

Cherries in season.  This is a Moroccan Cherry Coke I suppose.

Cherries in season. This is a Moroccan Cherry Coke I suppose.

Entertainment by the local Berber people.

Entertainment by the local Berber people.

Ah, and then back to the Kasbah Omar.

Ah, and then back to the Kasbah Omar.

Kasbah Omar

Kasbah Omar

My nap awaits.

My nap awaits.

4 thoughts on “Greetings from Siti Fatma

  1. Randy, I’m going to binge view your posts ASAP. I ‘m sure you are having amazing adventures and insights. Janet

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Hi, Just writing my blog post about the same place and came across yours! Looks like we did the same hike! I even have pictures of the entertainment with the same local Berbers! Leslie

Leave a Reply

