Essasouira C’est Magnifique!


 

Late in the day, all fishing work done.

Late in the day, all fishing work done.

We had to leave our new friends at the Kasbah Omar behind yesterday bound for the seaside resort of Essaouira. It’s a good thing we’re here as nearby Marrakech is enduring a heat wave of Koranic proportions. Here on the Atlantic coast of Morocco the temperature is perfect. It seems the y have a climate like coastal Southern California…never too hot, never too cold. I like it.

For anyone planning a tour of this drop-dead gorgeous country, Essaouira should not be missed. It reminds me of an old “Hollywood Has Been,” she’s ready for her close up. Even I, a person who just takes snapshots rather than photographs, can feel like a professional with a cheap point and shoot camera. There’s so much color, the light is beautiful, the people interesting. This is in addition to it being a smaller town and its medina is perfect for strolling around taking it all in. Exotic enough to engage your imagination, but intimate enough not to be overwhelmed.

We head to Marrakech tomorrow where we will end our Moroccan odyssey. So, I will likely have only one or two more posts from here. I’m saddened to think of this trip ending but thankful I was glad to experience its history and beauty. So soon it will be time to say “Adieu mon nouvel ami.”

Essaouira awakes slowly, easily.

Essaouira awakes slowly, easily.

Lots of artists and some art in Essaouira

Lots of artists and some art in Essaouira

Just caught my eye.

Just caught my eye.

Need me to pick up anything while I'm here?

Need me to pick up anything while I’m here?

P1050657

I love little squares like this.  Essaouira has more than its share.

I love little squares like this. Essaouira has more than its share.

One of the few reasons to be thankful of French occupation.

One of the few reasons to be thankful of French occupation.

No, I don't know what any of it is.  But it looks nice.

No, I don’t know what any of it is. But it looks nice.

Another workday.

Another workday.

Fishing is a huge industry here.

Fishing is a huge industry here.

People are starting to awake and stir about.

People are starting to awake and stir about.

You never know what you're going to see when you turn a corner.

You never know what you’re going to see when you turn a corner.

Another corner.  I have no idea what's beyond it.

Another corner. I have no idea what’s beyond it.

Typical street.

Typical street.

Typical street.

Typical street.

Communal well, very much used.

Communal well, very much used.

What is it about bicycles pictures that I can't resist?

What is it about bicycles pictures that I can’t resist?

Beautiful colors

Beautiful colors

Beautiful shadows.

Beautiful shadows.

Wall graffiti.

Wall graffiti.

P1050716

4 thoughts on “Essasouira C’est Magnifique!

  1. Hey Randy, really enjoyed all you’ve shared about this trip. I’ve been to Morocco a couple of times and truly enjoyed it. Aren’t those Berber tents with all the design on the interior cool? Feel free to pick one up for me! Haha They weight about 300 lbs.

    • Okay Alex, I picked up the Berber tent for you but I had to go with neutral colors since I didn’t know your tastes. Somehow it just doesn’t seem to work in beige though.:-/

      Sent from my Windows Phone ________________________________

    • Good catch Mike. You see this color of indigo blue all over Morocco. They believe color repels mosquitoes. I’m not so sure about that though.

Leave a Reply

