A Marrakech Meander


 

The beautifully carved cedar on old administration buildings.

The beautifully carved cedar on old administration buildings.

 

Well, we’ve made our way to mysterious Marrakech, the final stop on our grand journey through Morocco. My first impression of this famous and ancient city is that it is very much like the rest of Morocco…only MORE so. Here we were greeted by my friend Joan and an unseasonable heat wave. Alas, now that I have my “Travel Girls” all herded into one spot it’s almost time to go home.

This morning we were promptly met by Yussef, our local guide for the Marrakech medina. He was attuned to our various infirmities and led us on a wonderfully leisurely stroll through the vendors, hawkers, craftsmen, and artisans of the narrow alleys and souks. Even I, an ardent anti-shopper, fell prey to all that can be found here. Nothing is purchased at the asking price and haggling is just a way of life. I’m not good is this type of system, but Amanda proved to be quite adept. Yussef told her that she “bargains like a Berber woman.” It took Joan, Abdellah, and myself to convince her that this is a compliment.

And just like in Beverly Hills, the morning of shopping ended with lunch with the “locals.” It was here that Abdellah told Amanda and me that we had travelled over 3,000 kilometers here in Morocco. This converts to around 1,800 miles. I was shocked to hear this, but it explained a lot. I knew that Morocco had left an indelible impression on me. However I now understood that I had left an impression of myself on Morocco: the outline of my butt print on the left rear seat of Abdellah’s car!

Mosaic detail.

Mosaic detail.

Amanda begins her journey home tomorrow, Joan and I the day after, so I may not have another posting from Morocco (at least this trip). I want to thank Marrakech Voyage, and especially Abdellah, for this truly memorable immersion into the Arab and Berber culture of this wonderful country. Abdellah quickly learned our likes and dislikes and was able to quickly adjust plans to fully fulfill those. For that alone he is my new friend.

 

 

 

 

 

A Marrakech mosque.

A Marrakech mosque.

 

Marrakech medina

Marrakech medina

Youssef always ahead of the game buying tickets and stuff.

Youssef always ahead of the game buying tickets and stuff.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Marrakech medina

Marrakech medina

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

P1050755

Youssef and Joan.

Youssef and Joan.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Strolling through the medina.

Strolling through the medina.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sorry, I just like this kind of stuff.

Sorry, I just like this kind of stuff.

Making and dying wool yarn, Marrakech medina.

Making and dying wool yarn, Marrakech medina.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dyes used for the yarn.

Dyes used for the yarn.

 

P1050775 P1050772

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

وداعا المغرب. أحبك .

وداعا المغرب. أحبك .

One thought on “A Marrakech Meander

Leave a Reply

