The People and Color of Panama


Beautiful colors.

Beautiful colors.

I spent a good part of the morning just walking around the old part of Panama City snapping some pictures.  This place is very colorful in both its people and place.  Once I got tired of that I jumped on one of the double Decker tourist buses to a tool around environs further flung.  It was a total rip off, but I’m still glad I did it.

Moi (Early later years).  Selfie portrait at the Panama Canal.

Moi (Early later years). Selfie portrait at the Panama Canal.

One of the highlights was going to the Miraflores locks of the Panama Canal.  Many years ago Ray and I took a cruise from Acapulco, MX to San Juan, PR and we traversed the Canal.  It was fun watching it from the other angle this time.  I even got a reasonably good selfie there.

I’m headed back to LA tomorrow morning.  The main purpose of my trip was to get a sense of what this city/country was like, thinking perhaps I may want to spend a winter here sometime.  But, I’ve probably ruled that out since it just didn’t click for me.  I think I like Puerto Vallarta better.

A new museum (not yet opened) designed by the world famous Frank Gehry.

A new museum (not yet opened) designed by the world famous Frank Gehry.

Man on bucket arrested by policeman on bike 2 minutes after I snapped this.  No, I don't know the crime.

Man on bucket arrested by policeman on bike 2 minutes after I snapped this. No, I don’t know the crime.

It's only 10:30, can't open all the way yet.

It’s only 10:30, can’t open all the way yet.

An "In & Out" with no line!  (CA peeps will get this).

An “In & Out” with no line! (CA peeps will get this).

Casco Viejo

Casco Viejo

Around the corner from "my place."

Around the corner from “my place.”

Casco Viejo

Casco Viejo

Casco Viejo.

Casco Viejo.

Casco Viejo

Casco Viejo

Go home building.  You're drunk.

Go home building. You’re drunk.

In my 'hood.

In my ‘hood.

 

2 thoughts on “The People and Color of Panama

Leave a Reply

