Gimme a Break


We spent a couple of hours at this exact table watching Plaza Trinidad.

We spent a couple of hours at this exact table watching Plaza Trinidad.

I know that I’ve written here before about the importance of taking a break from your holiday. Admittedly, I can usually go a little longer before I must succumb to this primal need, but I think the heat and humidity of Cartagena was enough to tucker me out a little early this time. I refuse to believe that the fact that I’m getting older has anything to do with it. Whatever the reason, yesterday was just such a day.

Yesterday was just such a day. Neither Amanda nor I made it out of the apartment before noon. And then only because we were driven by hunger and thirst. But it was a fruitful trip. We finally settled on a funky little backpacker place for lunch that at first glance only had one thing going for it: It was air conditioned. Lunch was fine, but the real score was my SIM card that I had been searching high and low for. On the way back, with me now reconnected with the world-at-large, we happened upon a supermarket where we found many of the necessities we’d been lacking. We then made a bee line straight back to the apartment for the rest of the afternoon.

We spent a leisurely and entertaining evening sitting at a little restaurant call Demente watching the activity on Plaza Trinidad. It was very relaxing and felt like we had immersed ourselves into the local culture…very much a part of the neighborhood fabric.

Today we fly to Medellin which will likely prove to be a more urban experience and the weather is supposed to be much more agreeable there. I truly do like Cartagena for it’s dripping in colonial charm. Here are just a few parting shots in which I try to capture this flavor of this old city.

Making tortas-Plaza Trinidad

Making tortas-Plaza Trinidad

Baru

Baru

The people of Plaza Trinidad.

The people of Plaza Trinidad.

Around Cartagena

Around Cartagena

Around Baru

Around Baru

Around Baru

Around Baru

Around Cartagena

Around Cartagena

P1060057

Around Cartagena

Around Cartagena

Around Cartagena

Around Cartagena

Leave a Reply

