Chiang Mai, My My!


P1060328

Cell phone charging station?

Cell phone charging station?

I’ve only been here for one day, but I really like Chiang Mai.  It’s in the northern section of Thailand and I find the weather much more agreeable than in Bangkok.  It is also a much smaller city (population 200,000) so it is not nearly as intense as its big sister to the south either.P1060387

Joan and I spent a very nice and leisurely morning strolling through the old section of the city which is just lousy with wats mostly dating from the late 1400’s or so.

We split up for the afternoon since we both had different endeavors.  Joan was in search of a massage, I was in search of a particular cellular store to see why the balance of my local SIM card was already chewed up.  She was successful.  Me, not so much so.  Meh, tomorrow.  I don’t need to call anyone anyway.

We joined up for dinner at the Sunday Market (yes it’s Sunday evening here, no really it is) where we had the most incredible street food for dinner.  We both put on many miles today on foot.  So a short tuk tuk ride back to the hotel ($3.00) was a nice finish.

Below are just some of the things that caught my eye here in Chiang Mai.

Urns used for ritual bathing...I think.

Urns used for ritual bathing…I think.

More bathing urns.  Always two.  Male and female?

More bathing urns. Always two. Male and female?

 

P1060373

Buddhist monks

Buddhist monks

P1060374

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Laundry day at the monastery.

Laundry day at the monastery.

Just a little cutie.

Just a little cutie.

Aren’t I just FABULOUS!

Wats and stupas.  Wats and stupas.  Everywhere!

Wats and stupas. Wats and stupas. Everywhere!

Sunday.  Just another work day here.

Sunday. Just another work day here.

7 thoughts on “Chiang Mai, My My!

  1. We’re having sprinkles in PS this morning. It’s ok it’s Sunday and football is on. Dallas 14- Green Bay 7. All is well here in your lovely home. I want some of that street food. You’ve made me hungry. Have fun.

  2. Yes, as usual the descriptions and pix of your travels are a delight…after seeing it through your eyes I feel well traveled…keep it coming. Green Bay won…(yeah!) and now the Broncos are losing to the Colts!

Leave a Reply

