Taking Care of Business


Well, it’s Monday here already and everyone is back to work.  Just because I’m retired, why does that mean that I should be left out? So, over breakfast, I compiled a list of must-do chores today.  You know things like getting pictures made for my visa into Lao, finding Ibuprofen, topping up my SIM card.  You know important stuff like that.  Turns out that Joan has a similar list so we set off together once again pounding the streets of Chiang Mai.

Street life Chiang Mai, Thailand

Street life Chiang Mai, Thailand

 

Street life
Street life

 

Of course all work and no play is always a bad idea and I can’t seem to pass a temple without dropping in for a look see.  This poses a problem because they are on nearly every block.  This does slow me down considerably.  But the colors and architecture fascinate me every time.

Thai wat (temple).

Thai wat (temple).

 

Thai wat (temple).

Thai wat (temple).

Thai wat (temple).

Thai wat (temple).

Thai wat (temple).

Thai wat (temple).

Thai wat (temple).

Thai wat (temple).

Thai wat (temple).

Thai wat (temple).

Thai wat (temple).

Thai wat (temple).

Then, sometimes I just snap pictures because I like the light, the composition, or they simply amuse me.

Old shrines are allowed to age gracefully here.

Old shrines are allowed to age gracefully here.

Every temple has its resident dog.  They are all as energetic as this one.  Some have sweaters, others are stark naked.

Every temple has its resident dog. They are all as energetic as this one. Some have sweaters, others are stark naked.

I went to the rest room at lunch and was surprised to find a shower in the unisex toilet.  I was disconcerted over the raw electrical wires directly above the shower head!

I went to the rest room at lunch and was surprised to find a shower in the unisex toilet. I was disconcerted over the raw electrical wires directly above the shower head!

P1060428

These little guys are every where.

These little guys are every where.

P1060296 P1060394

Tomorrow we leave for Chiang Rai a small town on the northern border in preparation for our invasion of Lao!

Here’s a quick video of a Chiang Mai tuk tuk ride:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XIkUZ7FV0w4&feature=youtu.be&html5=1

2 thoughts on “Taking Care of Business

Leave a Reply

