Thai Cooking Class


Suwannee helping us shop in the local market.

Suwannee helping us shop in the local market.

Today was such fun.  We signed up for a cooking class which included a visit to a local market where we learned how to buy the ingredients and to sample many of the yummy things that I’ve seen but never had a clue what they actually were.  It was a great opportunity to try new things and I now know why I haven’t seen any super markets.  This open air bizarre IS the super market.

Suwannee was great!  She has lived abroad for many years and her English was perfect.  She also had a keen sense of what we were curious about and was very patient in stopping at the various stalls to give us an explanation.  I’ve always thought Thai food was very complicated but in reality it is not.  It’s about the ingredients.

So, shopping bags in hand we set out to buy what we’d need to make a four course meal that we would later eat.P1060520 P1060514 P1060492 P1060491 P1060523

 

Our chickens
Our chickens

 

 

Our chicken lady

Our chicken lady

Next we set off for Suwannee’s house to begin the food preparation.  The menu as to consist of Glass Noodle Salad, Chicken in Coconut Milk Soup, Red Curry, and for desert Sticky Rice Balls in Coconut.

In the Thai way of cooking, the preparation is done ahead of time by sitting at a very low table on a tiny stool.

Preparation

Preparation

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Prepared ingredients for the salad

Prepared ingredients for the salad

 

Salad-finished product.

Salad-finished product.

 

Prepared ingredients for the soup
Prepared ingredients for the soup

 

 

Soup.  Perfection if I do say so myself.
Soup. Perfection if I do say so myself.

 

 

 

Making the curry.

Making the curry.

 

 

So good!  I can't believe I made this in minutes.

So good! I can’t believe I made this in minutes.

 

 

Cooking the sticky rice balls.

Cooking the sticky rice balls.

 

 

Sticky rice balls in coconut milk.  We died the purple ones with flower blossoms to get this rich color.

Sticky rice balls in coconut milk. We died the purple ones with flower blossoms to get this rich color.

 

 

Relaxing after a huge and wonderful meal.

Relaxing after a huge and wonderful meal.

 

 

Joan is happy, I can tell.

Joan is happy, I can tell.

 

 

I'm happy too!

I’m happy too!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My class at work.

My class at work.

 

 

And the dishes are done!  Burp.

And the dishes are done! Burp.

 

5 thoughts on “Thai Cooking Class

Leave a Reply

