Around Luang Prabang


Lao Peoples Democratic Republic (PDR)...Please Don't Rush.

Lao Peoples Democratic Republic (PDR)…Please Don’t Rush.

If was an honest man I’d tell you I’d never heard of Luang Prabang, Laos until Joan and I started planning this trip over six months ago. However, I’m not so I’ll tell you that I’ve always wanted to come here. Now, however, this is true. I’ll always want to come to Luang Prabang. It has captured my heart.

Luang Prabang sits on a peninsula between the Mekong and Nam Khan Rivers. It is known for its many Buddhist temples and monasteries, you can’t go for more than a few minutes without running into a gaggle of orange clad monks.

A highlight today was crossing the smaller river on footbridges.  I know that I looked silly doing it, and my only regret is that I put clean underwear on this morning.

P1060967 P1060966 P1060950 P1060873 P1060879 P1060875

I love the food here, a mixture of Lao and French. The streets are bucolic and not choked with traffic like so many southeastern Asian cities are so walking around and soaking in the ambiance of the town is a delight for the senses. Not so much for the feet. I typically like to do a half day of looking around then a half day relaxing in my room or sitting at a café. I’ve found that routine difficult to adhere to here as I’m always wondering what’s around the next corner. Then all of a sudden I find myself wandering around the next corner. The cycle can be repetitive.P1060955

Propagating scallions along a sunny temple wall.

Propagating scallions along a sunny temple wall.

Rice cakes drying

Rice cakes drying

P1060889

Riverside cafes at every turn!

Riverside cafes at every turn!

Leave a Reply

