Leaving Things Behind


In this place

In this place

When you’re travelling, NOT leaving things behind is exactly how you spend a lot of your energy. However, this morning I have a different take on that. I’m smitten by the town of Luang Prabang, Lao and know in my heart it is a good place to leave some of Ray’s ashes. Our car comes in a few minutes so I had to make a quick decision as to where. I knew that it would not be hard to find a Buddhist temple in just a few steps. However, there was one, how have I missed it?

In This spot

In This spot

It was perfect. Quiet, small, and rather plain tucked away on a little street and it had a lovely garden and Buddha image that I really liked. It was here that I decided to leave one more piece of Ray behind. It will be peaceful here, the wat doesn’t get that many visitors it appears. Even though my heart breaks anew each time I do this, I too find some semblance of peace by conducting this exercise. Rest in peace here Ray. I’ll come back to see you as soon as I can.

With this view.

With this view.

2 thoughts on “Leaving Things Behind

  1. Breaks my heart a little for you everytime too, but at the same time it makes me smile and my heart fills up. To know that you had such a wonderful love. Not everyone gets that you know.

Leave a Reply

